As is often the case with a new form of "networking", you always get so into it the first couple of days, then spend the next few days (or in my case, weeks) completely neglecting to look at it/post new things. Sorry. My most humble apologies. I actually have a good excuse however- I, the queen of laziness, procrastination, and loafing around, have been keeping up with my schoolwork, and doing a smashing job if I do say so myself :D. My grades are good, and I even worked ahead last week. However, I am procrastinating a tad bit now, which is what brings me here! Just kidding, I've been meaning to post soon.
I have come to the realization that college has had a reverse effect on me than it does on most. Instead of going from a straight-A goody-two-shoes to a party girl, I've gone from a slacking, promiscuous, self-admitted dumb-ass to a boring (in a good way), responsible, studious second-year collegiate. Whoever would have guessed? I can't take all the credit of course- my darling boyfriend, J, has been a key motivator in getting me onto the straight and narrow. I owe my (currently) B+ average all to that wonderful man. He's been the kind of guy that encourages me to do my essay now and not wait until the day it's due instead of encouraging me to take that last shot; to hit the books instead of a bong; to go down to the Chemistry help room instead of down on him; to get up for class instead of up onto the counter at a bar; to go for a walk instead of to a frat party. I can't even begin to thank him for all he's done for me. I know gushing about how much you love your boyfriend totally isn't cool in the world of single feminists, but sometimes, when the deck is stacked against you in your life, the help of someone who truly loves you can be the single most important thing to happen to you. And recognizing and appreciating that love is always right, even when it's not trendy this week.
That's all I have in the insight department tonight. Until next time,
G
Sunday, December 2, 2012
Monday, October 29, 2012
Monday with Sandy
So dear old Sandy has graced our lovely state of NY! A quick glance at Facebook turns up a million posts about this wild weather, along with many ecstatic exclamations about the various school cancellations across the country. My university waited until noon to cancel classes, but only for today (Tuesday's fate has yet to be decided). Curious, because the rain didn't even start until 6 pm!! Not that the weather had much of an effect on us, especially me - I spent about 99.8 % of my day in my room, in bed. I have developed bronchitis! Yay. What was a simple sore throat, and maybe the beginnings of a stuffy nose became full-blown bronchitis at some point during the night. I woke up to extreme pain upon breathing, and absolutely no voice. Luckily, my roommate, T, had an inhaler- I was skeptical, but one inhalation had my voice almost back to normal plus some seriously needed relief. With everything on campus closed today, including the Health Center, this quick fix was beyond helpful... If they're open tomorrow, I might drag myself over to the on-campus clinic, and try and get myself something to deal with this more effectively. Normally, I'd write more, but I'm off to shower and bed! Maybe J and I will get to finish our crossword tonight before sleeps :) Night night blogsphere, and stay safe from Sandy's stormy swath!
Saturday, October 27, 2012
Beginning of my Halloweekend
Oh my. Seems my night wasn't too bad, all things considered. My friends who visited our favorite frat last night were all plagued by a case of the too-much-drunks... Our friend, D, got obliterated and threw up in a cab on the way home; my roommate, S, was wasted and hysterically funny, and to top it all off, my boyfriend, J, upset over our bad evening, drank enough to have him throwing up for several hours, with me, tissues in hand, taking care of him. Actually thought I was going to cry when he got a nosebleed, and it looked like he was throwing up blood - a night in the ER was NOT on my list of things I wanted to deal with at 3 am. So instead of spending the night in my bed curled up with a box of tissues, or snuggled up with my babe, I spent the night making sure J was still breathing. Sigh. Too bad I love him so much :) So with little sleep, and the lingering remnants of a viral infection, my goal of the day is to complete the costumes my roommate, S, and my close friend, E, and I are wearing out tonight. Silly of me, I know, to go out and party when I'm still sick, but it's Halloweekend!! My holiday spirit has returned, albeit a little sniffly, but I've rallied enough to complete the fairy trio from Sleeping Beauty- a modification of the Powerpuff Girl theme we were going with originally... So soon I will be on my way to buy enough fabric, fabric paint, wings, and wands to make us the cutest themed friends out on the town tonight! I'm hoping my sewing skills will enable me to complete the skirts in time for some light (?) drinking and tons of fun!
Although tonight will be oodles of fun, I'm really looking forward to next weekend- My 19th birthday is the wednesday after next, and the weekend of the 2nd is a Pretty Lights concert in Albany, which my roomie, S, is taking me to as the perfect present!!
It's been an interesting week, and I'm glad I started this blog. It's nice having somewhere to just talk. Instead of just thinking about what's been going on in my life, I like seeing my thoughts in text. Makes things seem less abstract. I'm was originally skeptical, but I'm officially converted !
Although tonight will be oodles of fun, I'm really looking forward to next weekend- My 19th birthday is the wednesday after next, and the weekend of the 2nd is a Pretty Lights concert in Albany, which my roomie, S, is taking me to as the perfect present!!
It's been an interesting week, and I'm glad I started this blog. It's nice having somewhere to just talk. Instead of just thinking about what's been going on in my life, I like seeing my thoughts in text. Makes things seem less abstract. I'm was originally skeptical, but I'm officially converted !
Friday, October 26, 2012
Walloweekend
I'd love to start my blog with some cliche entry beginning with "Captains Log Stardate 1329.1" or some other phrase that hints at my (not-so-secret) love of all things science fiction, but that would mean I was starting my blog from my usual quirky space... Alas, I'm losing my blogging virginity under less than romantic circumstances. I, my currently nonexistent followers, am a bit bored to tell the truth. Back-to-back episodes of Gossip Girl only hold their interest for so long. It's the Friday of Halloweekend, and I am sitting on my bed, under a fuzzy blanket, in my pajamas, with a box of tissues, alone, and sick. Just typing that makes me feel even more pathetic than I already do, so let me clarify- I am sick, yes, but that's not really the reason I'm not at my favorite frat's epic bash tonight, clad in something skimpy. Up until about 9 pm today, I was under the impression that my boyfriend (ehrmehgerd she hars a berfriernd!!) and I were going to be super sappy, and be dressing up in a couple's costume, and getting utterly smashed together. Of course, the tragedy of "stupid boy syndrome" struck, leaving him in a Mario/Luigi costume set with his friend, M, and me in a state of, well, total pathetic. So, after feeling super sorry for myself, being commiserated with by my roommate, S, using up a box of tissue, and watching almost an entire season of Gossip Girl while eating a squirrel's valhalla worth of almonds, I landed on the idea of starting a blog. So here I am! And feeling silly, even though I'm only on my first post. Maybe I'll feel less pathetic if I talk less about why I'm so pitiful...
On a normal day, I'm a sophomore at a University in upstate New York. Born and raised in "America's Most Perfect Village" (yes they actually bill themselves as such), this little country bumpkin has no bloody idea how I got into a decent college. My high school was less than upstanding, offering a minimal of AP classes, none of which I took of course; I was never really into academics, per se. Extracurricular activities, both literal and dirty, were (and perhaps still are?) my forte. Drinking problem at 13, 2 pack a day smoker by 17- I wasn't exactly a model youth. No regrets, of course - it all made me what I am today... Or is that something maybe I should regret?!? Only kidding, I'm not all that much of a self-loather... At least not when it comes to my past actions.
More about my childhood another time perhaps... Currently I'm working harder than I ever have (at least at my schoolwork), and it's beginning to pay off... I hope. After the 11th person threw up on me my freshman year, it dawned on me that maybe I would do well in a care position. A few academic inquiries later I landed on Nursing... Wish me luck!!
Not sure what this blog will be about? Well that makes 2 of us. Until next time,
G
On a normal day, I'm a sophomore at a University in upstate New York. Born and raised in "America's Most Perfect Village" (yes they actually bill themselves as such), this little country bumpkin has no bloody idea how I got into a decent college. My high school was less than upstanding, offering a minimal of AP classes, none of which I took of course; I was never really into academics, per se. Extracurricular activities, both literal and dirty, were (and perhaps still are?) my forte. Drinking problem at 13, 2 pack a day smoker by 17- I wasn't exactly a model youth. No regrets, of course - it all made me what I am today... Or is that something maybe I should regret?!? Only kidding, I'm not all that much of a self-loather... At least not when it comes to my past actions.
More about my childhood another time perhaps... Currently I'm working harder than I ever have (at least at my schoolwork), and it's beginning to pay off... I hope. After the 11th person threw up on me my freshman year, it dawned on me that maybe I would do well in a care position. A few academic inquiries later I landed on Nursing... Wish me luck!!
Not sure what this blog will be about? Well that makes 2 of us. Until next time,
G
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)